I Am Not Sure What Is Happening…

Today, at 7:30pm… I am going to go pick up a couple from Colorado, USA at the airport…

I am excited to meet them, to talk to them, to converse with American adults… but I have no idea what I want to talk and converse about.

I do not know why I am excited, or if I am not really excited and just curious to see them adapt. I like being the Indian-American experienced professional. I like that I get to tell them, from an American view, what India is like, and what to expect…. but maybe that’s it…

Also, they might be the ugly Americans I don’t like, they might be the super conservatives or the super liberals… neither extreme being my favorite.

I guess I will see soon enough.

In other words, I am really confused about how I feel about meeting them.

I guess there is one thing for sure that is going to be really good. Because the Rotarians, as they should, want to make their best impressions and keep conversation up, all the talking (for once) will be in English. a whole month of knowing what is going on in the conversation.

Surely something to be excited about : )

 

~ by Amanda on February 7, 2011.

2 Responses to “I Am Not Sure What Is Happening…”

  1. How fun for you. Hope it doesn’t make you irreparably homesick. However, be careful in your enthusiasm. By your quotation for your post:

    “I like that I get to tell them, from an American view, what India is like, and what to expect….”

    Maybe it would be best to let them find out on their own, unless, of course, they invite your impressions. It would be interesting to get THEIR impressions when they leave too.

    It will also be interesting to learn how these people got to know your family. For a whole MONTH? I thought they were staying for only a week.

    Anyway, have fun with them.

    • They are staying in this house for only one week, in India for one month, and with Johney (who will be traveling with them) for almost 1 month.

Leave a comment